The Neighbors

The Neighbors
Wednesday | 9:30 pm | ABC

The Neighbors got a peculiar mix of good and terrible reviews, so I was anxious to see if it would tickle my particular funny bone. It did not. At every commercial break, I contemplated jumping ship to anything else. The Last Song was playing on ABC Fam! Supersize L&O:SVU! But I made it through, mostly because I forgot the fact that I had pledged to watch four more episodes.

The premise of the show is the Weaver family (Jami Gertz and Lenny Venito, plus kids), move into a gated community that is entirely occupied by extraterrestrials. The aliens are lead by Larry Bird (Simon Templeman) and Jackie Joyner-Kersee (Toks Olagundoye), because they’ve all named themselves after famous athletes. Their children’s names are Dick Butkus and Reggie Jackson, by the way. Jokes! The aliens are “different from us” in a couple “hilarious” ways: they wear coordinating outfits and walk around in pyramid formation, ride on golf carts, eat by reading and cry green goop from their ears. They also have out-dated ideas about gender roles, and don’t love their children properly. The Weavers correct them, after being suitably terrified by the aliens, and then deciding to stay, because they are stupid. Just like the show.

I’m not really sure who the target audience is for this show. I can see how some people might find it funny, but I found it stupid to the point of agony. I don’t want to talk about it anymore, because it makes mad at myself for promising to watch more episodes. At least now I have something to call my least favorite of the year!

Long Term Prediction:
I will torture myself into watching this for five episodes or cancellation. At least in the coming weeks I’ll have Nashville right after as a reward.

Leave a Reply

